13 March 2014

Restore Synology network backup after nas migration



If you have changed the source server of a network backup, you may follow these steps in order to recover your backups without the need to transfer again all your files through the network :
  1. Connect to the target (backup) server
  2. Go in the NetBackup folder
  3. Go in the folder you want to recover (you may rename it if you wish)
  4. Delete all files at the root of this folder (not the subfolders)
  5. Go in the @app folder
  6. Delete all files at the root of this folder (not the subfolders)
  7. Create the backup task using the same target folder name as previously.
  8. You may receive an error message: "The operation failed.  Please login to DSM again and retry". Simply ignore it.
  9. Run the backup task

Take care that if you have set a new user to the backup task on your target (backup) server since the last backup has been made. You have to ensure that the access rights for this new user are consistent along the whole folders' tree (use chown -R or check the corresponding checkbox in the folder properties in the File Station)
UPDATE 2014-03-18 : Better use the command line if you want to ensure the owner of hidden files and folders is also changed



Post a Comment